How To Maximize Profits From Your Facebook Fan Page

March 24, 2010

If you have a Facebook Fan Page, it’d be a good idea to  capture the email addresses of your fans, so that you can contact them whenever you want. Here are the steps to capturing your fans’ email addresses:

  1. You need to subscribe to an email marketing service like Aweber.
  2. Add your opt-in form (which you’ll obtain from Aweber) on to your Facebook Fan page.
  3. Offer a free gift like a report or a video to motivate your fans to opt-in to your mailing list.

Since adding an opt-in form can be a bit technical for many people, here’s a cool video I found that shows you how to do it… Read more

Facebook’s Public Relations Fiasco

March 26, 2009

Have you ever heard the saying…

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

Well, I’m guessing the executives at Facebook have never heard the saying before because if they have, they wouldn’t have shot themselves in the foot by redesigning their home page.

According to several online polls, over 90% of Facebook users hate the new design. And I am one of them.

Their original home page design was just fine. I don’t understand why they feel the need to tinker with it. The redesign has now turned into a public relations headache for them.

So, the lesson of the day is:

Listen to your customers. Unless they tell you that they want something changed, leave it alone.

How To Get Free Traffic From Forums Without Writing A Single Post

October 20, 2008

Online forums can be a good source for traffic. Now, I’m not suggesting that you spam forums, i.e. posting promotional messages.

I’m talking about contributing informative and helpful content in forums. And in your posts, you can include a link to your website in your signature.

Occasionally, you can link to a post on your blog that’s relevant to the discussion.

But here’s the problem with using forums to generate traffic… you have to keep posting to get traffic. Read more

A Simple Strategy To increase Your Viral Report’s Distribution By 400%

September 30, 2008

One of the most effective ways to generate free traffic is to distribute free viral reports. If you’re new to this strategy, here’s how it works:

Step One: You write a report in Microsoft Word. The report can be anywhere from 3 to 70 pages and will contain links to your website.

Step Two: You convert it into a PDF file using Adobe Acrobat software. A PDF file is a universal file that can be opened by PCs as well as Macs.

Step Three: You give it away to your website visitors and newsletter subscribers.

If your readers find the information valuable, they will pass it to their friends and colleagues. Then, their friends and colleagues will pass it to their own circle of friends and colleagues. Read more

Two Effective Ways To Overcome Rising Pay-Per-Click Advertising Costs

September 9, 2008

As more and more people start online businesses, your pay-per-click advertising (PPC ad) costs will increase. It’s inevitable as new internet entrepreneurs start pouring money into Google AdWords and Yahoo Search Marketing.

And the increase in PPC ad costs will definitely affect your bottomline. For instance, if you’re currently paying 20 cents a click and getting a 1% conversion rate for a $50 ebook, you’re making a profit of $30 for every sale.

Now, what happens if the cost per click is driven up to 50 cents?

With a 1% conversion rate, you’re just breaking even on your $50 ebook.

And what happens if the cost per click goes up to $1?

Now, you’re losing $50 for every sale!

So, how do you overcome this inevitable challenge?

Well, here are two proven strategies to overcome rising PPC ad costs:

1. Extend your customer lifetime value

Customer lifetime value (CLV) refers to the total amount of profits you’ll generate from your customer’s expenditure on your products and services in her lifetime. Using the earlier example, if you’re making a profit of $30 from a $50 ebook, your CLV is $30.

So, to overcome rising PPC ad costs, you’ll have to extend your CLV. In other words, you’ll need to generate repeat business by selling additional products and services to your customers.

Here are two ways to extend your CLV:

Tactic #1: Create and sell high ticket information products.

I highly recommend that you create a $97 to $497 information product and promote it via email to your customer list. The fastest way to create a high ticket information product is to conduct a live or teleseminar and record it on video or audio. And when you charge a fee for the seminar, you’re actually getting paid to create your product.

Tactic #2: Sell services.

For example, if you’re selling an ebook on job hunting, you should also sell resume writing or interview coaching services. You don’t necessarily have to be the service provider. You can always set up a joint venture with a service professional and collect a commission for every sale you generate.

2. Share advertising costs with complementary businesses

This is an old strategy used by franchises like McDonald’s. You see, every McDonald’s franchisee has to contribute to an advertising fund. A portion of their sales is automatically deducted for advertising expenses.

The reason is because each franchisee by itself wouldn’t be able to afford to produce television and print advertisements and buy airtime on national television or ad space in national newspapers.

But when they combine their financial resources together, they can afford to create a multi-million dollar advertising campaign. In other words, their leveraging on each other’s resources.

Now, here’s how you can adapt this strategy for your own business:

1. Find and approach one to three complementary businesses to share PPC ad costs.

2. Create a landing page that will promote your business as well as your joint venture partners’ businesses. If the landing page collects visitors’ contact information, each partner has access to the information. The landing page will have to be hosted on a neutral domain to be fair to all parties.

3. Set up PPC ads to send traffic to this landing page. One of the partners will have to be appointed to set up and manage the ad campaign. And that partner should be compensated for her effort. Alternately, you and your partners can outsource the task to a virtual assistant or a professional search marketing firm.

So, with these two strategies, the rising PPC ad costs will not be much of a problem for your business.

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